Art Events: Love, Always. Exploring Identity through Spoken Word

1. The event was held today Wednesday, October 29, 2014. It was held at the USU ballroom.  Love, Always. Exploring Identity through Spoken Word by Imani Cezanne.

2. The poems were intimate and relatable and dealt with some issues that I could identify with like racism, privilege, identity and love. Imani was strong and confident in her spoken word. During each poem, she was funny and engaging to the audience by reflecting on what particular event in her life influenced each piece.

3. I like the fact that Imani was not afraid to discuss about controversial topics. I think that as an artist, it is important to evoke all emotions, positive or negative. I hope to tackle some topics like her’s in my future work because I don’t see them come up as often as I wish.

4. I discovered that Spoken Word is just as amazing and written words. It’s history predates writing. I brings about intimacy while despite not knowing the speaker.

5.I would have wished that the location would be intimate because I arrived a little late to the performance and was forced to see her speak through the projection they had of her using a video camera. It was at the USU ballroom, so t felt like a conference instead of an intimate performance.

6.Well, I learned that people connect to spoken word because it connects to our primal need of communication. Spoken word has also instigated competitions at both the local and national level.

7. I did feel respect for Imani. You could tell she was excited to be there by the way she joked around and talked with the audience. As a former college student, she sympathize with the issues we face as young people.

Leave a comment